//
you're reading...
Love

Tell Me Now Where Was My Fault in Loving You With My Whole Heart?

Don’t get me wrong; being in love was (and will again someday) be the best thing that will ever happen to me, but  I’ve never known anything to make me so happy then make me so physically ill. I’ve used music to celebrate love and to acknowledge it’s demise. Love sucks, but it’s a necessary evil.

We wouldn’t have power ballads if it weren’t for love. I think music helps us to put into words what we’re feeling about someone when we feel we cannot. It’s easier to have someone else tell our significant other than it is to do it ourselves.

Weddings are full of music; people march (or dance) down an aisle, relatives get drunk and chicken dance all over the dance floor someone paid $500 for, and the first dance between new spouses is a spectacle (and heaven forbid that song suck or (9 times out of 10) the new wife will throw the biggest fit ever).

Who can forget the awkward way we used to dance with our junior high crush and how we swore “I’ll Never Break Your Heart” by the Backstreet Boys (or any song by a boy band from the late 90s, early 00s for that matter) was the ultimate love song? Love makes awkward things the best things. We’re weird people.

Love songs are amazing, and these are some of my favorites:

* Ben Folds – “The Luckiest” (try not to think about your boyfriend/girlfriend/husband/wife while listening to this and NOT crying. If you don’t cry, you have no soul.)
* Death Cab for Cutie – “I Will Follow You Into the Dark” (see reasoning above about this song. NO SOUL INSIDE OF YOU IF NO TEARS ARE SHED.) See also “Transatlanticism”; every time I see this song performed like, I ball my eyes out, and I’m so not a crier so yeah
* Dashboard Confessional – “Hands Down”  (This song is for that first spark, that first anything, that happens when you’re starting out with someone. The first few days are always “the best day I can ever remember”.) See also, “Stolen”, which was featured in probably one of the saddest episode of “Scrubs”.

These are just the first three that come to my mind. Is it sad that I can think of more break-up songs than love songs?

Break-ups are the worst part about being in love. WARNING: WE’RE GONNA GET DEEP HERE FOR A MINUTE. OHHHHH PERSONAL EXPERIENCES.  There’s something about when the love of your life rips your heart out for (what you believe) is no damn good reason that both makes you physically ill yet breathes new life into you. There’s always a part of you that regardless of the  current relationship status between you and that person that destroyed your world will ALWAYS be in love with them yet ALWAYS remember what they’ve done to you. If you can get past that, yay for you! The rest of us learn to live with it.

Being treated unfairly and poorly for weeks, then being kicked out and forced to find an apartment in a few days can leave a person pretty broken, and yes, I was basically a stupid vegetable for a while, but music (and my bestest friends) helped me through it. Alanis Morrisette exists for a reason.

Favorite Break-up/STUPID MEN songs :D

*Dashboard Confessional - “Screaming Infidelities”   (Exactly what the title says!)
*Death Cab for Cutie - “Tiny Vessels” (more for that awkward period after the break-up when everyone’s confused and things are fun)
*Something Corporate – “If U C Jordan” (mostly a “screw you, bully!” song, but when the name of the person you screwed you over is inserted where the “Jordans” would be, it totally works.)

Those are my best and worst songs about love and all that mushy stuff. Tell me some of yours! It’s fun stirring up old memories!

On a happy side note, and the thing that makes love worth it no matter what the hell you go through:

HAPPY WEDDING DAY, BRANDON & KYLE!

Listen to this: “Bigger Than Us” – White Lies (The video resembles a scene from the scariest movie ever, but the message of the song works. It also wraps up every emotion I’ve had concerning love and break ups.)

About thebrittie

Secondary education major (fancy way of saying "high school English teacher") with a minor in journalism. Teaching is going the way of journalism in that everything is mostly electronic. This is my way of jumping in head first. I hope this pool is deep :o I'm also a gamer, but I tend to stick to old school games seeing as new games are expensive & I am broke.

Discussion

One thought on “Tell Me Now Where Was My Fault in Loving You With My Whole Heart?

  1. Music does play an integral role in our lives and memories. Excellent post.

    Posted by The Hook | December 28, 2011, 8:45 am

Leave a Reply

About The Brittie

I'm a Secondary Education Major (fancy way of saying 'high school English teacher') with a minor in journalism at Weber State University in Utah. I love music. I used to play the flute, and I'd love to pick that up again. I also enjoy video games and nerdy board games. "Brittie" stems from children under the age of five; they just can't seem to pronounce "Brittany", and when they do, it comes out "Brittie". It's also a childhood nickname from my parents, which I guess is my name's origin though I have no idea. Maybe my dad needed something to rhyme with "itty bitty".
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 89 other followers

